top of page

To My Newly Pregnant Friend

This weekend, I found out that one of my best friends is pregnant with her first baby! And I am so excited by the mere idea of a mini version of her or her husband running around with my kids. Because while having your own babies is a big deal, having your amazing friend have their first baby is just extra amazing. Because you get all the joy and cuddles that come with having a beautiful baby in your arms to fall in love with, without the labor pains. Which pleases me even more.

So here's to you, my dear friend,


You've got this.


I know that you may be worried, maybe even a little scared for all that lies ahead of you. With all the wondering of what kind of mother that you'll be and if you're even going to be a "good" one.


But I'll tell you what I know FOR SURE, I know that you've got this.


Why? Well, Ive seen you with our children. You are kind, patient, loving, and fun. And I've seen how you treat your husband. And I know that you'll be all of these and so much more with your very own. I mean, you have the biggest heart and best spirit than anyone I've ever known. Your baby is the luckiest one.


Ask for my help...seriously.


No matter how much you feel like you don't want to or feel like you shouldn't, I want you to know that when that baby comes (and now), you can ask for my help. Because if I can help, I will. I want to. Because I'm invested.


I want you to know that you can ask for my advice, but you don't have to take it. I promise that I won't be "that person" who will begrudge you with finding your own way to parent. I want to help you celebrate what makes you a mommy. Because I'm invested.


I want you to know that I already love that little baby. Just how you have loved mine. Because I'm invested.


I am so proud of you.


And that no matter how you do this whole motherhood thing, I'll always be proud of you. If you have an epidural or if you don't. If your baby sleeps well or if it doesn't. If you never complain about being exhausted or if you complain every single day. If you implement routines or if you wing every day as it comes. I'll be proud of you no matter how you do it - no matter how well you cope or how many times you feel like you're failing. Because you won't fail. Not even in the slightest. And I'll be so proud. Because I'm invested.


And I'm not going anywhere (unfortunately for you)!


Because we're family now. So I am in this for the long haul: my kids, your kids. Our kids. A family. Because I'm invested.

You're having a baby...your first baby! And you've got this kick-ass mama.

Love you ALWAYS!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page