top of page

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens

Okay, I know that I am late to this one. Mostly because I’m usually so skeptical of books that are so hyped up that they end up on pretty much every book club’s reading list. But I honestly didn‘t want my expectations to get the best of me from fully enjoying a good book.

My Review

So to kick it all off, I’m sure that you can already tell that I lIke’s this book. A full 4.5/5 if I had to rate it. With its quiet power, lush atmosphere, and depth of emotion, I can definitely see why it got so much attention.

About the Book

Where the Crawdads Sing is a very symbolic story that follows the valiant survival of a reclusive girl named Kya Clark. A girl, who was not only abandoned by her mother, but eventually all of her siblings then father, and ultimately what felt like life itself.


But the one thing that kept her grounded was Mother Nature. It’s deep and lonely marsh along the North Carolina coast that aloud her to simultaneously hide and blossom into an incredible human being as she embodies its uninhabited spirit.


All until a young, open-minded boy befriends Kya. Ultimately shaking up her lonely existence to the core. And to add onto it, a curious unsolved murder of one of the nearby town‘s treasured boys. The same town that frowned up her from the very start.

Review on the Writing

The whole story delivering a powerful punch with a humble hand with Owens writing. Depicting so much detail that it grows into something so intimate and probing in its sort of lyrical rhythm. Carrying us readers in her atmospheric tone that eluded us to seek, find, discover, and examine the marsh life alongside the characters. Something that I truly appreciate.

Not to mention that I also loved that the whole books carried over through Kya‘s lifespan. Going from childhood into her bitter end. And the way in which she did such an ode to wilderness.


Dislikes

But, there were a few moments here and there that I did think that the story would begin to drag on. Possibly not really living up to its hype. But just when my attention would taper off, Owen knew how to bring it in just right.


Overview

I think that this book is perfect for the person who appreciates nature’s beauty. One that could be still honored in fiction. For those who seek a love story that could be every bit as true as it is tender. For those who like a little tantalizing mujer/mystery story to spice things up a little bit. For those who kind of love the underdog. And for those, who are like me, who like all of those things.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page