top of page

Prayer Journal

This week I started a prayer journal. A powerful way to pray and keep record of my prayers so that I can see where God has been at work in my life. And let me tell y'all, there is just something about the written word that makes this one of my favorite parts of my new morning routine. So I HAD to share with all of you!

What is a Prayer Journal?

Prayer journals can come in a variety of formats. Some come with templates, sections, and activities set up for every day and/or week. For me, I wanted something a little less structured that I could take into my own that would also allow me to take time with God within ever shape that each day brings. So I grabbed a blank leather journal from Barnes and Noble, some pens, and some highlighters.


How to Use It

  1. Write a letter to God. A great way to kick off your prayer journal is to just write out all of your prayers. Opening it with the name of God and then just pouring your heart out to Him like you would catching up with a friend. Talking about the challenges of your day, your questions, your fears, your wants, and your desires. Or maybe use a question that you have for God as the basis for your conversation with Him.

  2. Keep track of prayer requests. If you're anything like me, you've got a long list of friends and family to pray for. So I like to keep a list towards the back of my journal with all of the prayer request with their name, prayer needed, and if it had been answered.

  3. Record God's words to you. I love to read my Bible every morning. And as I do, I can sometimes feel the words that God places into my heart. Whether it be a verse or picture I get while praying, I like to write down what I think that God is trying to tell me.

  4. Write a gratitude prayer. Some days I really just need to focus on some gratitude, especially those really rough days tat I feel worn down and too focused on my own humanly concerns. So I like to fill a page with all of the blessings that God has brought in my life. Usually stemming from examining my day. Recording at least 3 highlights of my day that best reflected Him and 3 things that could use some grace and growth. Praying through them for some light to be shone upon them where I need to improve to make changes for the next day.


And that's how it's done y'all! It's all about marking down all of the moments in your spiritual journey. Recording all of your struggles, questions, doubts, epiphanies, joys, answered prayers, and spiritual growth. And I hope you all grow in your faith with me by grabbing your own!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page