top of page

Organizing My New Bible by Genres

So, as most of you know, I am huge when it comes to organization. Especially with my Bible. And one of the first things that I do when I get a new Bible, is organize it by genres so that I can fully understand what I am reading while also being able to keep in mind the context, meaning, and intent of origin. Here’s how I do it...

The Old Testament can be split into 5 genres: Law, history, poetry, major prophets, and minor prophets.

The law, also known as the Pentateuch, contains Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. These books present the standard by which God‘s people were to live and worship by under the old convening. So, I like to read these with the understanding that though we are under a new covenant, that the law in these 5 books are not void, but rather fulfilled within Christ.

The history contains Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 Samuel, 2 Samuel, 1 Kings, 2 Kings, 1 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, and Ezra. Presenting the account of Israel with the settlement into the promised land through the destruction of Jerusalem. So, I like to read them as these stories of imperfect people with imperfect actions, that come together to point us toward the gospel of Christ.


Poetry contains Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiates, and Song of Solomon. Presenting common sense sayings and philosophical reflections that are emphasized in their lyrical writings of prayer and worship. So, I like to read it as a collection that has a unified message that are spoken about and inspired by God.

Next we have major prophets. Containing Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Ezekiel, and Daniel. Which are lengthier messages to the people from God living in the time of the prophet. So, I like to read them with an insight into the context in which they were written and with God’s faithfulness to unfaithful people as the big picture of it all.

Lastly is minor prophets. Which has Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi. Using the same reading strategy as with the major prophets but with shorter messages.

The new testament can also be broken up into 5-6 genres (I just keep the last two together): Gospels, history, Paul’s letters to churches, Paul’s letters to friends, and general letters/prophecy.

The Gospels, containing Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John, present Jesus’ life and teachings. Containing beautiful narratives, illustrations, and sayings. So, I like to read them with an insight of the good news that can be found within life, death, and the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

The history, only containing Acts, presents the history of the early church. Extending from Jesus’ ascension to Paul’s ministry. So, I like to read it with the intent of more knowledge in Paul, Peter, and the Holy Spirit.

Paul‘s letters to the churches contains Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, and 2 Thessalonians. With the letters to friends including 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, and Philemon. And I like to read all of these letters entirely with the understanding of the historical and spiritual context that they were written.

Lastly we have the general letter and prophecy. With Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John, Jude, and Revelation. Presenting responses to specific needs and circumstances. That I like to read with not only the historical and spiritual context in mind, but also with humility. So that I can completely understand the pointing to the gospel and Jesus as the King of Kings that they point to.

I hope that all of this helps in your Bible study organization. I know that it has helped me tremendously.

What are the genres that you split your Bible Into?





0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page