top of page

Thank You for Being the Father Neither of us Had


Dear Marc,

I grew up with a dad up until the age of 14. The year that my father left and that I found you. And you grew up without a father at all. And yet, you've been the one to show me what a good man is. No, a great one. A man that I dreamed of as a kid. A man who speaks the truth. Not just the one that everyone wants to hear, but the one that everyone needs to hear. And I thank you for being the man and father that neither of our dads were.


Because you are selfless. You always set us as a priority. You always take time for us. Which I know can be hard after a long day at work when you'd like nothing else but to unwind and relax. Teaching our kids that family matters and that relationships take a top priority with the bonds you have with all of us. They get to see you come home every day and still put us first. They get to know what it is to be a responsible and loving father because they get to grow up watching you. And I am so happy and blessed for them that they have that gift from you.


Because you are loving. You may not like to show affection much. But all of those tender morning kisses as you rush off to work show your love. All of those random hugs from behind, kisses on the forehead, and snuggles are the best. All of those cuddles and play time with the kids are always cherished. You always respond so calmly to us when we argue and when things go awry. Giving our kids a shining example of self-control. Because of you, they'll know what it's like to keep a temper in check and be able to choose a wise response rather than reacting with strong emotions like I often do. Which is such a valuable lesson to teach our children that our fathers never did for us. You are teaching all of us that a love from a father is tangible, not just some lofty idea but a very real treat.


Because you are strong. You lead our family. You show our kids what a real man does and doesn't do. You never falter in your steps. You steady me when I question who I am. You live with integrity and purpose.


When we got together almost nine years ago, I thought that was the most amazing moment in my life. But now I realize that the best moments are in the little moments that we get to have with you every day. When you fulfill your marriage and parental duties. So thank you for being THAT man. For loving us when we're the most unlovable. For asking us the tough questions. For showing us truth when we need it and grace when we don't deserve it. And letting us know that we are secure in your love. Knowing that we will always understand the love of a father.


With love,

Your Grateful Wife

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page