top of page

Healthy Breakfasts for Toddlers

Toddlers eating habits are pretty unpredictable as the day carries on. This is why it is so important to make sure that they get their day started off right with a healthy and filling breakfast!


Healthy Pancakes

A nice and filling food that toddlers love mostly because they get to slather on the syrup! Regular pancakes have flour, sugar, and not too many healthy nutrients. So that’s why we aim to make healthier pancakes, such as banana pancakes. They don’t have any flour or sugar, but instead are made solely from bananas, eggs, and baking powder. It’s quick, easy, delicious, and satisfying. Aka a perfect way to start the day. And let’s not forget all the cool things you can do with them too. You can make them a different color and make them into shapes. Enhancing their interest.


Oatmeal

For as long as my son could eat it, oatmeal has been one of his favorite meals. We usually try to stay clear from the pre-packaged ones since they contain so much sugar, although we do sometimes dip into some brown sugar ones. But to add some flavor to the regular oats, we either make it with some peanut butter and honey, berries and banana, or some cinnamon and nuts. And when I know that it’ll be a hard day, the night before I do some overnight oats. All it takes is a mason jar, some oats, milk, and toppings. The easiest breakfast ever!


French Toast Sticks

My personal favorite and one that my son enjoys just as much! Just some egg, vanilla, splash of milk, and some whole grain bread makes for the most delicious breakfast. And instead of adding the sugar, I usually add some cinnamon and toppings such as berries and banana to sweeten it up for my little one!

Muffins

Muffins are kind of a big deal in our house. From the kids to my husband, our family is always stocked with them. And to their surprise, I usually throw in some hidden healthy ingredients such as spinach to sneak in some vegetables into their diet. Not something either of them are very good at doing on their own.


Green Smoothie

My toddler is super picky about veggies in full form, unless of course it’s carrots or cucumber. So even if we have another healthy food, I still make us a “green machine” smoothie every morning. It includes spinach, pineapple, celery, cucumber, apple, cactus, and some water. I know sounds kind of weird, right? But it’s actually delicious and my son LOVES it!

Toast

Something that I use often just because of how quick and easy that it is. Usually it contains two options: peanut butter or avocado. The peanut butter one is accompanied by some banana or berries. And the avocado by chia seeds or egg. But both are packed full of protein and fat to keep my son satisfied and nutrified ( yes, I know that’s not a word - but it sounds good!).

Snack Plate

Sometimes my son is just not having it with a full meal, and I get it sometimes I don’t either. So I’ll add a few small different foods for him to pick and choose from. usually choosing things that include proteins, fat, and carbs with a dose of fruit and veggies. Such as a healthy cereal, cheese, apple, cucumber, and some berries. This one is his favorite, I think mostly due to because it gives him the power of choice (something toddlers value greatly).

English Muffins

This is a high protein, high fat breakfast. I toast up the English muffins a little, fry up an egg, slap on some meat (ham, turkey, or bacon), and add a slice of cheese.

Breakfast is truly the most important meal of the day, especially for toddlers. So why not start it off right with a healthy diet? Just make sure there is some protein, fat, vitamins, and maybe even some carbs. It’ll keep your little one happy, healthy, and energized.

What‘s your favorite healthy breakfast for your toddler?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Join My Mailing List!

Thanks for submitting!

© 2019 by Jordan Valero. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page